Germán García Pérez

Germán García Pérez (1996, Spain) began his musical career in Granada with the teachers Andrei Reznik and Javier Herreros. His studies continued in Badajoz at the ‘Conservatorio Superior de Música Bonifacio Gil’ with maestro Alexander Kandelaki. Here he obtained both an Honorary Degree and the Extraordinary Prize by unanimous vote. After this he went to study with Naum Grubert at the conservatory of Amsterdam, where he obtained his degree ‘Master of Interpretation’. Here he also received chamber music training from Frank van de Laar, Clive Brown and Paul Scheepers. 

In August 2013 he took part in the ‘We Gather Friends’ International Festival held at the Tchaikovsky Conservatory in Moscow. His first performance as a soloist took place in March 2015 when he performed the Piano Concerto No. 1 by Tchaikovsky, conducted by César Álvarez at the Palacio de Congresos in Badajoz. In December 2017 he played a solo recital at the Manuel de Falla Auditorium in Granada in which he performed, amongst other pieces, Kreisleriana, op. 16 by Robert Schumann and Petrushka by Igor Stravinsky.

Germán has been awarded with various prizes including the Special Jury Prize at the XIV Santa Cecilia International Competition in Segovia, First Prizes at the XXIX Marisa Montiel City of Linares National Piano Competition, the XXII Ciutat de Carlet Piano Competition, and the XXXVIII Ciudad de Albacete Piano Competition. He has received advices and masterclasses of pianists such as Ángel Sanzo, Luis Fernando Pérez, Albert Attenelle, Guillermo González, Eldar Nebolsin, Irina Plotnikova, Marta Gulyas, David Kuyken, Frank van de Laar and Claudio Martínez Mehner. 

Currently he combines playing solo recitals with playing chamber music concerts.


Quarter Finals > Friday 11 February | 11:00 – 11:40 hrs | Bimhuis
L. van Beethoven Sonata no. 18 in E flat major, op. 31/3
E. Granados El Fandango de Candil (from Suite Goyescas)
R. Escher Toccata from Arcana Musae Dona
I. Albéniz Iberia, book 1 – no. El Puerto

Semi Final
J. Brahms Piano Quartet no. 1 in G minor, op. 25
F. Liszt Fantasy and Fugue on the theme ‘BACH’

R. Namavar Ti’afa’a
L. van Beethoven Piano Concerto no. 3 in C minor, op. 37